Augury

Posted: August 6, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

There is a great change coming to my life.  As the days tick away like drops of water in a pond, I grow fearful and nervous at the thought of not having control over my destiny. For at least two years, I can honestly say I do not know what to expect.  Can the unknown be liberating? Certain friends say yes.  I’m not so sure.

I set myself on this path a few months ago, and I ultimately knew what the outcome would be:  this road would take me away from all that I know and drop me unceremoniously in the midst of a strange and alien way of life.  A roommate I’ve never met.  A city I know very little about.  A entire new life is waiting to be discovered.  Why am I terrified of change?

It could be my age.  In a little less than 4 weeks I’ll be thirty three. That’s awfully old to be a junior in University.  Most people have long since passed this phase of their life, and here mine is just about to start.  I’m embarking on an academic ride of a lifetime as an honor student at a small, private college.

I’ve received a lot of support from older students who returned to college after many years.  It got me to thinking:  how is the life of an adult college student different from the new, wet-behind-the-ears high-school graduate? Many of the differences might seem apparent to you, but there are many that are not so obvious.  I decided right then and there to chronicle and investigate these differences over the next two years as I progress through the upper level curriculum in the social sciences and english, applying sociological thinking and just plain storytelling to the life of an adult in a twenty-something world of academia.

What is to come?  Your guess is as good as mine.

Comments
  1. Enjoy the ride – where ever it may take you. A change of scenery often opens up whole new worlds.

  2. Liv says:

    It all sounds very exciting to me! I look forward to reading about your adventure.

Leave a Reply

