The week, thus far

Posted: September 30, 2009 in School Daze
Tags: , ,

Geez what a long week this is turning out to be. Lets do a quick recap of what’s been going on so far:

Monday was my first exam of the semester, which I’m happy to report an A on.  Who said you can’t teach an old dog new tricks?

Tuesday was my job interview at the law firm.  First, I felt over dressed.  Everyone that works there is very business casual, but I still think it was a good idea for me to wear that tie.  It’s a very nice place, about 5 minutes from my apartment (ha, if you call it that) building.  Walking to get my car took longer than actually getting there.

I arrived early (always) and was asked if I’d kindly wait.  So I did.  Then, the Hiring Manager came out, and asked me to take a typing test (98 correct words per minute) and a grammar test (that letter was full of misspelled words and missing punctuation).  Then I was asked to wait again until the other hiring manager could get to me.  So I waited….and waited….and waited…and finally they came to get me.

What happened next I hadn’t expected at all.  I was asked a total of about five questions:  Would you considering yourself an independent or dependent person when it comes to work? (Gee, I wonder which I am) What is your ideal office environment? (Does it count if I say this one?) What computer programs are you familiar with (I answered MS Office and Quickbooks, but quickly added “Whatever I don’t know I can certainly learn.”)?  When did you decide to go back to school? (2 years ago.) and finally, When can you start (now!).  That was it. They shook my hand, told me I’d know by friday most likely, but monday at the latest.  I then left and returned to my building so I could study again.

Today I had the much-hyped Government and World Affairs exam covering eleven chapters.  It turned out I severely over-studied.  It was 30 multiple choice questions, none of which were difficult, and 2 essays.  The essays were “Compare and contrast the Authoritarian Government model with that of the Totalitarian model” and “What is a Utopia? What are the defining characteristics of a Utopia, and give two relevant examples.” I left feeling very confident that I did much better than all the kids in that class except for maybe one, who views me as his competition. I can see it on his face whenever I beat him to answering a question the Professor asks.

Picture this:  the kids come in before the test and start with, “I have a concussion, can I retake the test?”  and one girl said to the teacher, “I was supposed to study all morning but I was on facebook.”  Hmm.  LOSERS!  They then proceeded to delay the start of the exam with more stupid crap about various reasons to postpone the test.  All I could think was, the longer you freaking talk the less time we have to actually take this exam.  Needless to say, I was the 3rd person done, but that’s because I wrote 3 pages total for my essays.  I wanted to be sure I got my point across.  Sadly, I won’t get the results of that exam until next week.  She canceled friday’s class because of some stupid thing for the freshmen, which meant most of our class would be gone (hooray!).  That means I get to leave at noon to go home.

Only two more tests left this week on friday.  I have a MS word exam (not hard) and then the much-dreaded Astronomy exam.  I’ve heard stories that his exams are evil, monstrous creations meant to torture kids into submission.  I suppose we will find out.  I plan to spend a huge chunk of tomorrow studying for it.  I’d love to exit this week with a good array of high scores, it makes keeping them up all the easier through the rest of the semester.

I think I’m going to start writing senryu’s about people in our building.  There is one kid that I really feel the urge to write about.  He wears entirely too much ‘Parfum’ and is as shallow as the day is long.  He compared women to cars the other evening by saying, “Well, you don’t buy a car the first time you drive it. You have to drive them several times to be sure it’s what you want.”  My only response to this, in my mind, was in order to drive the car, you first have to put the key in. In other words, I’m questioning this sad, shallow boy’s virginity.

He accosted my RA, who out of kindness was taking someone’s duty on a Sunday night, by asking if she were single. He then looked at me and said, “She’s single” as if I cared. I said, “I’m not interested” at the same time she said, “He’s gay, he doesn’t care.”  This boy then looked affronted and said to her, “You shouldn’t say that to people you don’t know.”  I just shrugged and said who cares.  This isn’t China, this is America.  So what if I’m gay, and so what if people know it.  I am who I am, and that isn’t very likely to change unless they create some ray that can zap me back to “normal” as it were.

My point is, this kid will become fodder for my writing.  It’s rare when you find someone so one dimensional that they scream to be written about.  He is my antithesis, my opposite, the summation of every opposition to my being.  He is everything I am not.  Expect to hear about him again, especially if I have to ride in the elevator after he has sprayed an entire bottle of whatever feminine scent he’s wearing.  You can smell every single place he’s been in the building.  People now recognize him without even having to see him.

The night is young. Let’s see if more people will feel the slash of my pen before it’s over.

Leave a Reply

