Arrests, Exams & The Tao te Ching

Posted: October 6, 2009 in School Daze
Tags: , ,

Good Morrow!

I just love the way that sounds. I hadn’t written in a while, and I felt like it was time to lay down some more fun information about my life here in Tampa.

Sitting in my government class yesterday, this is the conversation I overheard:

Tall, Blonde boy:  “I had an eventful weekend.”
Short boy:  “Oh yeah? What happened?”
Tall, Blonde boy:  “I got arrested on Saturday night!”
Short boy:  “What did you do?”
Tall, Blonde boy: “I was driving around with liquor in my car, and the cops arrested me for possession of alcohol by a minor.  My parents were so pissed!”
Short boy:  “They are in town aren’t they?”
TBb: “Yeah, my dad bailed me out of jail.   Here’s the kicker: I got kicked out the Vaughn Center (his dorm) because of it!”
Sb: “So what are you going to do?”
TBb: “I found an apartment for 900 bucks a month.”

My first thought was, “Wow! You are getting robbed if you are paying 900 dollars a month for an apartment!” All the ones my friend and I have been looking at for next semester run in the mid 600’s.  That’s for a 2 bedroom 2 bath as well.  Secondly, I bet his parents were very pissed indeed.  I’d kill my child if he got arrested one month into the school term!  Kids do stupid things, but to me that was really really stupid.  I’m surprised the University didn’t boot him out completely, instead of just making him leave his dorm. They frown upon such ridiculous behavior.

In other news, we still haven’t gotten 2 of our exams back from last week. I fully expected the professors to have them ready yesterday: I’m itching to see what I got on my Astronomy exam.  That test was a total and utter bitch.  My professor is an evil toad, and likes to ask confusing questions that make you doubt your answers.  Not only that, but he practices the fine art of distraction too.  I glanced up at the beginning of the test to see him writing something on the board.  I looked up again a few minutes later and he was doodling pictures of people looking at the sky through telescopes. A lot of kids were sitting there watching him do it.  All I could think is that he was trying to waste our time.  We only had 50 minutes to do the entire exam, and I can see that distraction would indeed cause serious problems when it came to completing it on time.  I’m happy to say his tricks didn’t work on me, and I finished it in 35 minutes (that included my going back over it again to make sure my answers were succinct).  I can’t wait to see if I did terrible or not.

A kid on an upstairs floor (who just happens to be from a town near my hometown) said that he got a 55 on his first exam from that professor.  That is not very reassuring at all.

The government exam I spent several days studying for last week turned out to be much easier than I expected (considering that the material covered was eleven chapters).  It was primarily multiple choice with 2 essays.  I love essays.  It gives me a chance to demonstrate whether or not I know the material well enough to make sense of it on paper.  I ended up using 3 pages total for those two essays, but I feel very confident that I did well.

I’ve started doing research on my Government paper this morning, and I feel like I’ve accomplished a great deal so far today, even if I did sleep in a little bit.  I’m planning to focus my paper on Overpopulation as a public policy in the United States, China & India.  God knows we need less people on this earth, or we won’t have enough food to go around (like we do now, ha!).

Aha, before I forget, I’m officially an employee with a Law Firm downtown. I start on October 13th, so today is one of my last full free days for a very long time. It’s a good thing that I feel highly productive.

I’ve also been working on the Tao te Ching project for World Religions. We have to pick a poem from the Tao, take a picture that we feel represents it, and put it all together into an Essay.  Here’s the picture and poem that I chose:

Tao te Ching image

Death of a Rose

2

When people see some things as beautiful,

other things become ugly.

When people see some things as good,

other things become bad.

Being and non-being create each other.

Difficult and easy support each other.

Long and short define each other.

High and low depend on each other.

Before and after follow each other.

Therefore the Master

acts without doing anything

and teaches without saying anything.

Things arise and she lets them come;

things disappear and she lets them go.

She has but doesn’t possess,

acts but doesn’t expect.

When her work is done, she forgets it.

That is why it lasts forever.

Isn’t that a beautiful poem? I love the image of the dying roses from our courtyard, to me it really says a lot about what the poem conveys. It may not be the final image I go with, but at least it’s a start. I have to remember to pick up batteries when I go shopping:  it’s always the little things you forget.

I shall close for now, but there will be more to come!

Leave a Reply

