Odds and Ends

Posted: June 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

I finally finished my degree. In the end, it took all my attention, and this blog had to fall by the way-side as I completed multiple papers, exams, and projects. I was a fool to think that I could manage all these things AND still write at the same time.

Graduation came and went last month, and while I’d love to say it was a wonderful day, ultimately it wasn’t that big of a deal. I’m still awaiting the arrival of my physical diploma. We had 6000 graduates over a 3 day weekend, and as a result the sending out of diplomas to graduates has been delayed.

After five years of wall-to-wall work, I’ve taken some time off. A month so far, to be precise. I’ve spent this time reading several years worth of books that I’ve missed out on. I’m currently devouring the Douglas Preston/Lincoln Child books about Agent Pendergast. I’m on Book Six. If you haven’t read this series, I highly recommend it. It’s a perfect blend of Anthropology, murder mystery, and action. I’m on a murder mystery kick lately.

What does the future hold? Graduate School. Considering the state of the economy, I have to do something that will add to my marketable skills, so I’ve officially decided to continue my education for another two years. As it turns out, this may have been my best decision. Employment prospects have been nil in the area where I live. However, this isn’t a problem insomuch as you might think. I’ve been corresponding with a former professor, and very likely upon acceptance to graduate school, I’ll have a job working for her Archaeology center as a graduate assistant. I don’t relish the idea of another two years of studying, but all I can say is my master’s degree won’t be as trying as the last two years of my bachelor’s degree in anthropology. I am looking forward to studying something that is far less depressing than the world’s problems. This new path of education will take me into Library and Information Science, an area I’ve long had a passion for.

In terms of writing, I’m mulling over some ideas that might make their way into projects. One item is a book about how I graduated with honors, and how my tips and tricks can help the average college student. One thing I’ve heard continually over the years of my degree was, “I could never be like you,” which is something that instantly sets my teeth on edge. This is a cop out.  While I may possess an above-average intelligence, it does not account for my ability to pull A after A. What accounts for that are my study methods, my methods for taking notes, my writing ability, and my time management skills, all of which can be learned. Also, one must not discount the value of hard work. While college may also be a social experience, you must not forget that the reason you are there is to get an education.

Finally, I’m not sure about the future of this blog. I may change my scope to something more specific than just the college experience. Having completed that challenge, I’m already moving onward towards new challenges. There are books in my future, for sure, but at the moment they are no more than vague glimmers. I have yet to settle on a specific story to pursue, though the ideas are numerous. I will eventually have to choose a plot and just go with it. While I have never really been one to procrastinate, I find myself doing it more and more on the writing projects in my future.

I have nothing but time these days. Perhaps it is time to put fingers to keyboard and see what I come up with.

Congratulations to the Class of 2012! We did it!

Leave a Reply

